Work Hard, Play Harder

Okay! Back to the blogging. And wow, is there a lot to say. I left off my last post with a hint as to what was to come next in my blog: my very first Star Wars weekend!
Image

I tried doing the Vader choke, but Mickey is too much of a good guy to pose like that.

Wow. Star Wars weekend was so amazing, I went both Friday and Saturday to Hollywood Studios. There is the Hoopla show that is on at night on the big stage in front of the Sorcerer’s Hat, and it is hysterical. It’s basically a dance-off featuring top 40 hits and Star Wars characters, inside jokes and all. I found it way too entertaining, I had to go see it two nights in a row. There were Star Wars fans everywhere! And they were decked out in their fan wears. It was a great sight to see. Other than that, they had many character meet and greet spots (we walked by Chewie and an Ewok), as well as the Darth Mall for merchandise.

May 19th-22nd consisted of my entertainment and character training. Full days of learning safety rules, physical attributes of characters in my height range, and photo poses and autographs. By the third day we were released onto the public to do some random magical moment meet and greets. It was hot, tiring, but completely worth it. I had one Spanish speaking older lady come up to me and shower me with love. I had two twenty-something bros come up to me and tell me I was their favourite character. The training was fun, hard work, and my fellow trainees definitely made it worthwhile.

Image

Chip and Dale are adorable!

After my training ended, I was (rarely) scheduled three whole days off, to which I used very wisely. I went to Typhoon Lagoon, one of the two waterparks, and swam with sharks. We also met Lilo and Stitch there! Then we hit up Magic Kingdom in the afternoon, where we met a bunch of different characters like Gaston, Tinkerbell, and Ariel. Then that night was the first of the welcome parties by Disney housing. It was a glow in the dark theme, complete with DJ, dancefloor, free glow sticks, character meet and greets, and free pizza.

The following day I was able to get a group of friends together to go to Universal Studios to see the Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park! My lifelong dream I have been able to experience twice in my life now. And it was just as magical as the last time. I drank Butterbeer, went on the rides, and shopped for gifts. It was a great day.

Image

Platform 9 3/4

After those hectic two days, I decided to take the third day off as an actual relaxing day. That was followed by two very long, very hot days of work in Magic Kingdom. Let’s just say I know what it feels like to be a celebrity. I’d just like to point out that my very good friend Winnie the Pooh is a very popular and lovable guy. People yell his name everywhere he goes, and parents practically throw their children, babies, strollers, etc. at him and in his path. Now Pooh is a big, cuddly, robust fellow. He is so rumbly in his tumbly that he finds it hard to see his feet past his belly. So throwing things in his path as he waddles along is potentially very dangerous. And he just so happened to not see a rock on the ground. And he may have tripped. Like, faceplanted. But don’t worry, he’s all right!

The second shift I had was a spare shift, and they didn’t need me for anything, so they decided to put me onstage as a “Greeter” of sorts, answering guest questions and whatnot. Except they put me in the dance party area of Magic Kingdom. So for four hours I got to dance at the dance party with guests and popular characters that would come down off the stage to dance on the dancefloor with everybody. That was a great night’s work.

And so that brings me to these last two days, that I happened to have off as well. I was able to visit Animal Kingdom, and was fortunate enough to see Festival of the Lion King and Finding Nemo the musical. We also went on the African safari and met Pocahontas.

Image

Festival of the Lion King

The second day we were required to be up in the morning to do some government paperwork, but afterwards I headed out with some friends to Magic Kingdom. We ended up seeing three Princesses, Mickey, and riding some rides.

And now, I potentially have six days in a row to work. But hopefully I can give one away so I don’t die of heat stroke!

Image

The Boss.

Posted on May 29, 2013, in Disney and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

