Goodbye Disney, Hello Fringe!

Well folks, my Disney journey has come to an end.

And I’m very excited to report that it was indeed a happy ending!

After putting up my last blog post, I was touched by the number of views, visitors, and inspiring comments that I received from family, friends, and anonymous readers.

The happy ending to my Disney journey came about because of a very magical moment during my last few days at Disney World.
One afternoon I decided to tackle the remaining rides I had yet to do at Hollywood Studios, which included the short film at the end of the One Man’s Dream exhibit. It was during this biography of Walt himself that I remembered why I wanted to be there in the first place. Walt’s courage to pursue his dreams after countless failures reminded me of mine. His imagination, dedication, and hard work has created one of the world’s biggest companies that lets parents and children enjoy a vacation together, lose themselves in classic movies, let everyone be a kid again, and believe in dreams. Walt Disney World was named by Roy Disney, because Walt died shortly before seeing his grand project complete, and Roy wanted to let everyone know Disney World was Walt’s dream. This man’s legacy still continues to this day, and it took this biographical film to remind me of why I believed in Walt and his dream in the first place.

I know down the road I will look back on this experience and realize how fortunate I was to enjoy the good times and endure the bad. This entire journey has changed me for the better, as a person, an artist, an employee, and everything in between. I’ve gained invaluable experience, memories, maturity, and discovered a lot about myself.

So for that, Walt, I thank you.

 Image
Disney Grad 2013

And now, onto getting my life back on track in Victoria!

Ahhhhh, Canada. More specifically, Victoria BC. How I missed you! The friendly, courteous strangers, the poutine, the ocean, the mountains, TIM HORTONS, and free healthcare! I think I’ll stop complaining about all the rain, because this is nothing compared to the torrential downpour hurricanes in Florida.

And wouldn’t you know it, as soon as I get back home, I’m in full Fringe Festival mode? No down time for this girl. It’s time to write, produce, direct, act, and advertise my very first theatre production!

Straight from victoriafringe.com:

“The Victoria Fringe Theatre Festival is one of the oldest Fringe Festivals in Canada! Intrepid Theatre hosts the festival, which features over 55 productions from all over the world in various venues in downtown Victoria. The international theatre companies that participate in the Fringe are selected by lottery. Those companies prepare and produce their shows, and bring them to the festival ready to be seen by an audience.

The Fringe Festival movement is more than 30 years old in Canada, and there are dozens of Fringe Festivals across Canada and the US.

The Victoria Fringe is a non-juried festival of alternative theatre from around the world. We do not produce, select, or judge the content of artistic merit of shows at the Fringe. That judgment is up to you. If you like a show, support the artists you’ve enjoyed by telling others – and they might return with another great show next year.”

So (my partner-in-crime) Blair and I have been writing comedy sketches all summer. We cast our show back in April, and now we’ve been rehearsing since the beginning of August. Our show gets ready to open this Friday! Crazy!

Image

Image I’ll have more about the process of Fringe and creating my own show from scratch in a soon-to-be-posted blog entry. But for now, here’s some info on my show!

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/singlesawarenesstheatre

Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/422515921198543

Promo Video: http://youtu.be/D1oLwY_nijY

Marble Interview: http://marblevictoria.com/post/58578073245/you-had-me-at-improv-preview-matts-interview

Posted on August 18, 2013, in Disney, Projects, Theatre and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. We saw that movie this summer. You’re right, very inspiring. Have fun with the fringe !

Leave a Reply

